The Douro Demarcated Region

The Douro Demarcated Region - Região Demarcada do Douro - is the first limited and controlled region in the world recognized as a wine production region with specific characteristics.
It was created by Marquês de Pompal, Prime-Minister for the King D. José I of Portugal, in 1756.

The Douro region covers the Douro river valley and it’s affluents, from Banqueros (Mesão Frio) to Barca D’Alva, on the spanish border. It incorporates an area with arround 250 000 hectars distributed through the districts of Vila Real, Visey, Bragança and Guarda. The Douro region is divided into three zones.
The Lower Corgo - From Barqueiros to Corgo river (Régua) on the right shore and to Temmi-Lobos river (near Armamar) on the left shore.
The Upper Corgo - From the borders of the Low Corgo to the meridian that goes through Cachão da Valeira.
The High Douro - From Upper Corgo to the spanish border, near Barca D’alva

Casa Castro Malheiro’s agriculture and wine exploration is set on the Upper Corgo, in Noura village, Murça municipality, district of Vila Real.